FAQ

How old are you?
I was born in 1992.

What got you into photography?
It was this really well-made American Express Commercial. The one a few years back with the inanimate objects arranged to look like faces. That commercial sparked an interest in digital imagery. Before that, I just drew and painted here and there.

Why do you take photos of homeless people?
Honestly, they’re some of the only photo subjects I find interesting. Homeless people always have the most amazing life stories, and I love the challenge of trying to tell their entire biography in one frame.

How do you go about getting your street subjects to pose for you?
It’s tricky. First, you have to pick out a subject that’s actually willing to interact with people at all. Some people don’t. I like to sit down and talk with the person for a while and get to know them. Give them a few coins and ask about their story. Eventually, after a good conversation, I’ll ask if I can take a portrait. So far, I’ve never been turned down.

What kind of equipment do you use?
I use Canon everything for cameras and lenses. I currently shoot with a Canon EOS 7D with a 50mm f/1.4 and 20mm f/2.8. I light my photos with an AB1600 and a LP160, both with a variety of modifiers.

Do you use a lot of Photoshop?
Yes and no. I use Photoshop on every photo I take, but some are more heavily edited than others. I’ll often do composite editing to have more freedom between the levels of the subject and background. However, several of the photos on my website have only minor adjustments.

Have you gone to school for photography?
I have not had any formal training, but I’ve watched my fair share of YouTube tutorials and read plenty of articles. Experimentation is definitely the most beneficial form of education I’ve had, and I’m always trying new things and aiming to get better.

What advice would you give to a beginning photographer?
Make an account on a photography community like Flickr to gain feedback and exposure, and surround yourself with talented photographers. Find a successful photographer you look up to and learn their techniques and try to apply them to your own style. Most importantly, always use your “M” mode.

Leave a comment